Encyclopedia Astronautica
2002.06.18 - STS-111 Mission Status Report #28


For a second consecutive day, rain, thundershowers and clouds in the vicinity of the Kennedy Space Center in Florida caused flight controllers to wave off the day's opportunities to bring Endeavour and its crew home.

Houston's Mission Control Center told Endeavour crewmembers, Commander Ken Cockrell, Pilot Paul Lockhart, and Mission Specialists Philippe Perrin and Franklin Chang-Diaz, and Expedition 4's Yury Onufrienko, Carl Walz and Dan Bursch, of the second of two wave offs about 9:35 a.m.

Similar inclement weather on Monday resulted in a wave-off of those landing opportunities. Wednesday offers two landing opportunities at KSC and three at Edwards Air Force Base in California. Forecasters are predicting improving weather at both sites. Endeavour has enough consumables on board to remain in orbit until Thursday, if necessary.

The first of the KSC landing attempts would begin with a deorbit burn at 8:44 a.m. and a landing at 9:53 a.m. CDT (10:53 a.m. eastern.) A second opportunity for a Florida landing would see the deorbit burn at 10:19 a.m. and a landing at KSC at 11:27 a.m. CDT (12:27 p.m. eastern.)

The first of the three subsequent opportunities at Edwards would begin with a deorbit burn at 11:50 a.m. and a landing at 12:58 p.m. CDT. The deorbit burn for the second attempt would be at 1:27 p.m. and a landing at 2:33 p.m. CDT. The third opportunity would see a deorbit burn at 3:06 p.m. and a landing at 4:11 p.m. CDT.

Crewmembers aboard Endeavour are scheduled to begin a sleep period at 5:23 p.m. and be awakened at 1:23 a.m. Wednesday.

All continues to go smoothly aboard the International Space Station in the early days of Expedition 5's residency. Commander Valery Korzun, and Flight Engineers Peggy Whitson and Sergei Treschev, are still unpacking the supplies and equipment delivered by Endeavour.

More... - Chronology...

Home - Browse - Contact
© / Conditions for Use